Monday, August 8, 2011


Melvin Pangya
WALVANDA, AUGUST 8, 2011: In the recent elections held for electing the Gram Panchayat members in Jawhar and Mokhada Talukas of Thane district nine of Bosco Samajik Vikas Sanstha (BSVS) staff have been elected as Gram Panchayat Members. Among them, two are elected Sarpanch for their villages. Mr. Dilip Gavendra is elected as Sarpanch for Barbarpada Gram Panchayat and Mr. Panduraang Ghatal as Sarpanch for Dapti Gram Panchayat.

Ms. Rasika Gerevad of Kampala, Mr. Rajesh Achareye of Vadoli, Mr. Gajanan Patil of Surymahal, Mr. Nirmala Hanre, Mr. Lakshman Boye, Mr. Balu Mahale and Ms. Mira Karpade are the staff elected as Gram Panchayat members from their respective villages.

BSVS is working towards developing self governance and local leadership among the tribal youth. In the past, BSVS has organized several trainings for the villagers of Jawhar and Mokhada on Panchayatiraj Institutions, importance of Gram Sapha and NREGA programmes. BSVS staffs from the tribal villages were actively involved in this process. The trainings and support provided by BSVS over the years helped to motivate the staff to contest for the Gram Panchayat elections.

The Management and staff of BSVS wish them all the best.

No comments: