Tuesday, July 7, 2015


by Ashwini Gupte


MUMBAI, JUNE 7, 2015: The old adage about the youth of today, being leaders of tomorrow, still holds true. The Management and staff of Don Bosco High School, Matunga empowered the office bearers of the Student Council at the investiture ceremony held on July 6. 


It was fitting that the ceremony was held on a day the school celebrated the feast of Saint Dominic Savio, a Saint of the youth.     


Students staged a meaningful skit, portraying the sanctity, cheerful attitude, self-discipline, courage and wisdom of the teenage saint.


The skit was aimed at reminding the young leaders of their duty towards their motherland, their school and their fellow students, not as authoritative figures but as young men entrusted with the responsibility of strengthening their peers.


Father Wilfred D'Souza, Rector, urged the newly installed leaders to recognise the day as a defining moment to uphold the values that Don Bosco High School stands for and as a collaborative effort to raise the school to greater heights.


He reminded the students that the institution was a testimony to the success of Saint Don Bosco's visionary system of education.


The backdrop used for the stage bore the words of American scholar and author, Warren Bennis, who had said 'Leadership is the capacity to translate vision into reality.'


Father Bernard Fernandes, the Principal, lauded the School Captain, Mohnish Shah for reminding his fellow council members not to be authoritative figures, but instead, to empower others. 


Father Fernandes reiterated that the school endeavours to encourage maximum student participation in the decision making process for the benefit of the students themselves, and urged the students to stand for their values.


Office Bearers for the academic year 2015-16

School Captain: Monish Shah
School Vice Captain: Akash Patki

Sports and Activity captain: Dhiren Dhankani 

Discipline Captain: Krish Sukhani

Red house captain:  Sach Jankharia 

Blue house Captain: Venkateshan Kokkat

Green house captain: Aditya Goud

Yellow house captain: Nishith Desai

No comments: